Skip to main content
Serve Your City

Get involved! The City of Saint John is accepting public applications to volunteer on Boards, Committees and Commissions

Get involved and have your seat at the table! The City of Saint John recognizes the importance of public participation in the decisions that shape our community. We are currently inviting applications to volunteer with a variety of City of Saint John agencies, boards, committees and commissions.   

Volunteering with municipal government is a great way for residents to provide input and make a difference, and we encourage citizens from all backgrounds to get involved. There are over thirty agencies, boards, commissions and committees that oversee municipal organizations, initiatives or services and provide guidance and recommendations to support the decisions of Common Council.   

Current application opportunities include: 

  • City of Saint John Shared Risk Pension Plan Board of Trustees   

  • Fort LaTour Development Authority  

  • Harbour (TD) Station Commission  

  • PRO Kids (Positive Recreation Opportunities for Kids)  

  • Saint John Aquatic Centre Commission  

  • Saint John Board of Police Commissioners  

  • Saint John Community Arts Board  

  • Saint John Energy (Power Commission of the City of Saint John)  

  • Saint John Free Public Library 

  • Trade and Convention Centre Oversight Committee 

Applications for current openings are due by Friday, July 16, 2021, however applications can be submitted on an ongoing basis, at any time, for future consideration.   

Residents can learn more about volunteer position requirements and submit applications by visiting  HERE.  

For any questions about the application process please contact the City Clerk’s Office at (506) 658-2862.  
Here to help – For inquiries related to municipal services, contact the City of Saint John Customer Service Centre at (506) 658-4455, email or visit us in person on the Ground Floor of City Hall, 15 Market Square, Monday to Friday (excluding holidays), 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.