Skip to main content
City of Saint john City Hall Progression sculpture

Pension Plan

The City of Saint John provides City employees the financial benefits of a pension plan. Upon meeting the eligibility criteria, all employees of the City of Saint John are required to join the City’s Shared Risk Plan.

The City of Saint John and the four unions—representing police, firefighters, inside workers, and outside workers—jointly agreed to create the City of Saint John Shared Risk Plan, which became effective January 1, 2013. The Plan is administered by a Board of Trustees made up of eight people—each of the four unions appoint one trustee, and the Saint John Common Council appoints the other four.

Information with respect to the pension plan can be found at